La Fracha
>>
Home
>
Hiking
>
La Fracha
Moulinet

La Fracha

Fauna
Flora
Viewpoint
Embed this item to access it offline
A walk under the tall trees of the Turini forest, in the habitat of deer and black woodpeckers.
Once you are out of the forest, the view is revealed. To the south are the hills with Mediterranean vegetation which overlook the sea and to the north the high summits of the Mercantour emerge.

4 points of interest
Geology

Sandstone

Made up of grains of sand held together by silica, which is very slightly soluble in water, sandstone is a sedimentary rock. It is formed at the bottom of the oceans with the accumulation of sand coming from the erosion of old mountain ranges. It can now be found at altitude, since the Alps rose up.
read more
Fauna

Deer

In the undergrowth, there are plenty of clues as to the presence of deer, (hoofmarks, signs that they have rubbed against trees, droppings), rubbing their antlers to mark their territory or to remove the velvet from new antler growth. Their diet mainly consists of tree shoots and brambles, but also herbaceous plants and acorns.
These animals live in family groups (mother and offspring) for much of the year and they join together in herds of ten to fifteen individuals in the winter.

read more
Fauna

Black woodpecker

This is the biggest woodpecker in Europe. Almost entirely black with a red cap, it eats ants and other insects and larvae which it finds under the bark of trees. The black woodpecker marks its territory with the characteristic noise produced as it drills into dry tree trunks. To rise its chicks, it digs a cavity into a tree. Drilling these “lodgings” requires both the male and the female to work for two or three weeks.
read more
Flora

Fir and beech forests

The forest you walk through on this hike mainly consists of fir trees, although there are a few smaller deciduous trees, such as rowans, willows, elders and boxwood. The tracks through the mountains are directly linked to the wood industry.
Beech trees, which can reach up to 30 to 40 metres in height, is almost entirely absent from Vésubie. There is nevertheless a beautiful such forest at Peïra-Cava. The two trees which can be seen on the ridge towards Col de Turini are perhaps a sign that this wood is expanding its territory.
Beech nuts are edible and can also be turned into oil. Note the smooth bark that beech trees have, even very old ones.

read more

Description

Head off from Col de Turini, from markers 184 then 195, on GR52a, with red and white markers. Follow the forest track down its gentle slope (approximately one hour). At the first crossroads, turn right. At the following intersection, go straight on.
At marker 196, continue straight on until you reach marker 191. Here you should leave the track and the GR, turning left onto a path which climbs up over the bank towards Cime de Suorcas (yellow markers).
After climbing for a few minutes, the path heads downwards for a short while and then climbs gently until you reach La baisse de Suorcas (balise 192).
You will come out on the southern slopes, where you can admire the view over Peïra-Cava and Rocassiera.
Continue via the ridge towards La Croisette. At La Tête de Fracha, the path widens. Carry on until you reach the forest house of La Croisette, and then until the tarmacked road, which you will cross at marker 193 towards Col de Turini (“climb over” the supporting wall, marker 194).
Continue along the ridge. On the path, turn right. Continue for 100 metres until marker 182, then get back onto GR52a. At marker 183: a delightful view over the Bévéra valley to the southeast. Go under the ski lift and head down towards the ski slope. Before Col de Turini, you can make a stop at the little pond to look at the tadpoles.

Departure : Col de Turini
Arrival : Col de Turini
Towns crossed : Moulinet, La Bollène-Vésubie, Lantosque

Altimetric profile


Recommandations

Is in the midst of the park
The national park is an unrestricted natural area but subjected to regulations which must be known by all visitors.

Information desks

1 place St Pierre, 06380 Sospel

https://www.menton-riviera-merveilles.fr

sospel-tourisme@menton-riviera-merveilles.fr

04 83 93 95 70

Find out more

Report a problem or an error

If you have found an error on this page or if you have noticed any problems during your hike, please report them to us here:

La Fracha
>>
Accueil
>
Pédestre
>
La Fracha
Moulinet

La Fracha

Faune
Flore
Point de vue
Embarquer cet élément afin d'y avoir accès hors connexion

Promenade sous les grands arbres de la forêt de Turini, sur le territoire des pics noirs et des cervidés.

Au détour de la forêt, la vue se dégage. Au sud se dessinent les collines à la végétation méditerranéenne surplombant la mer. Au nord émergent les hauts sommets du Mercantour.


Les 4 patrimoines à découvrir

  • Géologie

    Le grès

    Constitué de grains de sable soudés par la silice très légèrement soluble dans l'eau, le grès est une roche sédimentaire. Il s'est formé au fond des océans avec l'accumulation de sables provenant de l'érosion de vieux massifs. On le retrouve maintenant en altitude, depuis la surrection des Alpes.

  • Faune

    Les cervidés

    Dans les sous-bois, les indices de présence des cervidés sont nombreux, surtout ceux des chevreuils (traces de pas, de frottis, excréments), frottant leurs bois pour marquer leur territoire, ou pour se débarrasser du velours lors de leur repousse. Leur régime alimentaire se compose principalement de pousses d'arbres, de ronces mais aussi de plantes herbacées et de glands.
    Ces animaux vivent en cellules familiales (mère et jeunes) une grande partie de l'année, se regroupant en hiver en hardes de dix à quinze individus.

  • Faune

    Le pic noir

    C'est le plus grand pic d'Europe. Presque entièrement noir, avec une simple calotte rouge, il se nourrit de fourmis et d'autres insectes et larves qu'il cherche sous l'écorce des arbres. Le pic noir délimite son territoire avec un bruit caractéristique qu'il produit en tambourinant sur des tronçons secs. Pour élever les oisillons, il creuse une cavité dans les arbres. Le forage de la «  loge » nécessite le travail conjoint du mâle et de la femelle pendant deux ou trois semaines.

  • Flore

    La sapinière et le hêtre

    La forêt parcourue dans cette randonnée est essentiellement constituée de sapins même si on observe également quelques feuillus de taille plus modeste, tels les sorbiers, saules, sureaux et buis. Les pistes tracées dans le massif sont directement liées à l'exploitation du bois de charpente et de menuiserie.

    Le hêtre, pouvant atteindre une hauteur de 30 à 40 mètres, est presque absent en Vésubie. Il existe néanmoins une belle forêt à Peïra-Cava. Les deux arbres visibles sur la crête en direction du col de Turini sont peut-être les précurseurs de son extension.

    Les fruits du hêtre, les faînes, sont comestibles et transformables en huile. Remarquer également l'écorce lisse du hêtre, même chez les sujets âgés.


Description

Partir du col de Turini, des balises 184 puis 195, sur le GR52a, signalé en rouge et blanc. Suivre la piste forestière descendant en pente douce (une heure environ). Au premier croisement, prendre à droite. Au carrefour suivant aller tout droit.
A la balise 196, continuer tout droit jusqu'à la balise 191, là quitter la piste et le GR, emprunter à gauche le sentier montant sur le talus, direction la cime de Suorcas (balisage jaune).
Après quelques minutes d'ascension, le chemin descend un peu et remonte en pente douce jusqu'à la baisse de Suorcas (balise 192).
Sortir à l'adret (côté Sud) pour admirer la vue sur Peïra-Cava et Rocassiera.
Repartir par la crête en direction de la Croisette. À la tête de Fracha, le sentier s'élargit. Poursuivre jusqu'à la maison forestière de la Croisette, puis jusqu'à la route départementale. Traverser à la balise 193 en direction du col de Turini (« escalader » le mur de soutènement, balise 194).
Progresser sur la crête. Sur la piste, prendre à droite. Continuer sur 100 mètres jusqu'à la balise 182, puis retrouver le GR52a. A la balise 183 : belle vue sur la vallée de la Bévéra, au sud-est. Passer sous le remonte-pente et descendre par la piste de ski. Avant le col de Turini, faire une halte près de la petite mare pour observer des têtards.

  • Départ : Col de Turini
  • Arrivée : Col de Turini
  • Communes traversées : Moulinet, La Bollène-Vésubie et Lantosque

Profil altimétrique


Recommandations

En coeur de parc
Le Parc national est un territoire naturel, ouvert à tous, mais soumis à une réglementation qu’il est utile de connaître pour préparer son séjour

Lieux de renseignement

Office de Tourisme Menton, Riviera & Merveilles - Bureau de Sospel

1 place St Pierre, 06380 Sospel

https://www.menton-riviera-merveilles.fr

sospel-tourisme@menton-riviera-merveilles.fr

04 83 93 95 70

Horaires
Toute l'année. Tous les jours
Ouverture le lundi de 9h à 12h30 et de 13h30 à 17h. Le mardi, mercredi, jeudi, vendredi et samedi de 9h30 à 12h30 et de 13h à 17h.
Fermé le dimanche.
Fermetures exceptionnelles les 1er janvier, Lundi de Pâques, Jeudi de l'Ascension, 1er mai, 8 mai, 1er novembre, 11 novembre et 25 décembre.

En savoir plus

Signaler un problème ou une erreur

Vous avez repéré une erreur sur cette page ou constaté un problème lors de votre randonnée, signalez-les nous ici :