Lac d'Allos
>>
Home
>
Hiking
>
Lac d'Allos
Allos

Lac d'Allos

Fauna
Geology
Lake
Embed this item to access it offline
Accessible for people with physical handicaps (“Joëlette” off-road wheelchairs), the interpretation trail provides an opportunity to explore this exceptional and fragile site. Lac d'Allos is an essential site, one of the most emblematic ones in Mercantour National Park.
Lac d’Allos is the biggest natural high-altitude lake in Europe. Situated at an altitude of 2225m, it is 48 metres deep and spreads over 54 hectares. Its main water supply is from melting snow.

5 points of interest
Flora

Secrets of the peat bog

This vast grassy expanse is one of the finest peat bogs in the Mercantour.

Peat bogs are rich in information: its depth is more than 8 metres. The succession of layers contains precious clues (grains of pollen, plant debris, etc…). They allow scientists to date things back as far as 9500 years ago.

These wetland areas which have little oxygen but plenty of nitrogen are home to flora adapted to the environment, namely bog plants: sphagnum moss, cotton grass with its gracious white cotton toupee as well as Alpine butterwort, one of the carnivorous plant species which can be found in France.
read more
Geology

The grassy plateau of Laus

The grassy plateau of Laus has been a living memory of life for 9000 years. It was created as the glaciers shrank, a lake occupied the site. The fact that it was not very deep, in addition to the floods of sediment and organic matter flowing into it accelerated the process of filling in this lake. The biggest role was played by bryophytes: while their roots decompose, bryophytes keep growing upwards, trapping pollen. Analysing them allows us to retrace the history of existence in the area.

Despite gradually drying out for several thousand years, the process is still ongoing today. This environment is still damp and contains plants which are more readily associated with peat bogs. The winding curves of the Serpentine gleam on this plateau.
read more
Geology

Where is this water coming from?

The beautiful outlet that you see before you is a singular case in hydrogeology: it is unique in the Mercantour and almost so in the Alps! Indeed, this water is escaping from Lac d’Allos which makes it a very rare case of a lake without an overflow and it is even more remarkable when you consider that this is the biggest natural high-altitude lake in Europe whose depth varies from 42 to 49 metres depending on the year.

The spring formed is called Chadoulin, an affluent of the left bank of the Verdon.
read more
Lake

Lac d'Allos

Created by the glaciers of the quaternary period, Lac d'Allos is the biggest natural lake at this altitude in Europe (62ha). It waters come from the thawing snow as well as from springs, and they reach up to 42m in depth. It burgeons with more life than in the previous lakes: invertebrates, juvenile fish, brown trout and arctic char.
Lac d'Allos is an incredibly fragile environment due to the extreme conditions and the low number of plant and animal species. The arctic trout which exist here are, for reasons which remain unknown, affected by dwarfism. Any pollution or modification of the environment would be disastrous. But the presence of the National Park should today ensure that the lake can live in peace.

read more
Refuge

Lac d'Allos refuge

Refuge managed by the commune of Allos

Refuge-bar-restaurant

Capacity: 40 places

Warden: June to September. Shelter room located just above the refuge, open 365 days per year.

Tel. 04 92 83 00 24

http://refuge-du-lac-dallos.com

Val d’Allos Tourism Office: 04 92 83 02 81
read more

Description

From Laus carpark, you will begin the hike via three sets of steps cut into the sandstone. For Joëlette off-road wheelchairs, take the tarmacked road which leads to the forest hut. After the forest house, follow the track (GR white and red markers) which heads into the larch forest.
 

Let the GR head off to the left and bear right on the interpretation trail (GR yellow and red markers). Admire the landscape which spreads out below the lake spring, which is the source of the Chadoulin river. Now leave the GR to head off to the right and go towards the lake until you reach La Chapelle Notre Dame des Monts. Once you get to the refuge, begin the circuit of the lake on your left.
Enjoy the magnificent scenery, observing the marmots and chamois on the surrounding green slopes. From the refuge, use the same itinerary to get back to the departure point.

Departure : Laus carpark
Arrival : Laus carpark
Towns crossed : Allos

Altimetric profile


Recommandations

For those who wish to, you can start from the summer carpark at Lla Cluite by following the GR56B. This will add 1 hour 30 minutes to the time required for this hike (this section is unfortunately not accessible for off-road wheel chairs).
Is in the midst of the park
The national park is an unrestricted natural area but subjected to regulations which must be known by all visitors.

Information desks

Place de la coopérative, 04260 Allos

https://www.valdallos.com

info@valdallos.com

04 92 83 02 81

Find out more

Transport

Free bus service in Val d'Allos (Transports Haut-Verdon Voyages): http://ete.valdallos.com/
Tel.:04 92 83 95 81

LER PACA lines to reach Digne-les-Bains, 
Barcelonnette and Nice
Tel.: 00 33 (0) 821 202 203
www.info-ler.fr

Departmental services in Alpes-de-Haute Provence Regular/weekly services Digne-les-Bains, Barcelonnette, Larche and Digne-les-Bains, Colmars, Allos, Conseil Général Transport Service
Tel.: 00 33 (0)4 92 30 08 00
www.cg04.fr

Chemins de Fer de Provence from Nice to Digne-les-Bains
Tel.: 00 33 (0) 4 97 03 80 80
www.trainprovence.com

SNCF's Accès Plus service for handicapped people
Tél.: 00 33 (0)890 640 650 then press 1
or    
Tel.: 36 35 then say "Accès Plus"
www.accesplus.sncf.com
accesplus@sncf.fr


Access and parking

From the village of Allos (Department 04), located on the RD908, follow directions for Lac d'Allos. 

Le Laus carpark- Restricted access:

The road is open from 26th May to 15th October (according to a municipal bylaw) up to Laus carpark

- Pay and display carpark from 30th June to 26th August from 8.30am to 5.00pm (6€ per car and 2€ for motorbikes/scooter, approx. 180 parking spaces)

- free access before 8.30am and after 5.00pm

Parking :

Laus carpark

Accessibility

Free loan of "joelette" off-road wheelchairs:

Allos Tourism Office 
Tel.: 00 33 (0)4 92 83 02 81
www.valdallos.com

Mercantour National Park at Allos
Tel: 00 33 (0)4 92 83 04 18
www.mercantour.eu 

Laus Chalet (summer)
Tel.: 00 33 (0)6 32 90 80 24

Joelette
Emergency number :
114

Report a problem or an error

If you have found an error on this page or if you have noticed any problems during your hike, please report them to us here:

Lac d'Allos
>>
Accueil
>
Pédestre
>
Lac d'Allos
Allos

Lac d'Allos

Faune
Géologie
Lac
Embarquer cet élément afin d'y avoir accès hors connexion

Accessible aux personnes en situation de handicap physique (joëlette), le sentier d’interprétation permet de découvrir ce site exceptionnel et fragile. Incontournable, le Lac d'Allos est un des sites les plus emblématiques du Parc national du Mercantour.

Le lac d’Allos est le plus grand lac naturel d’altitude d’Europe. Situé́ à̀ 2225 m d’altitude, il atteint une profondeur de 48 mètres et s’étend sur 54 hectares. Il est essentiellement alimenté́ par la fonte des neiges.


Les 5 patrimoines à découvrir
Flore

Les secrets de la tourbière

Cette vaste étendue herbeuse est une des plus belles tourbières du Mercantour.
La tourbière est riche en informations : son épaisseur dépasse les huit mètres. La succession des couches renferme de précieux indices (grains de pollens, débris végétaux, etc…). Leurs datations permettent de remonter à 9500 ans.
Ces milieux aquatiques particuliers, pauvres en oxygène et riche en azote, abritent également une flore adaptée, dite « turfigène » : des sphaignes (mousses), des gracieuses linaigrettes et leur toupet de coton blanc, ainsi que des grassettes, une des espèces de plantes carnivores de France.

lire la suite
Géologie

Le plateau herbeux de Laus

Le plateau herbeux de Laus est une mémoire de la vie depuis 9000 ans. Né lors du recul des glaciers, un lac occupait le site. Faible profondeur (7 mètres), apports importants d'alluvions torrentielles et de matières organiques se sont combinés, accélérant le processus de comblement de ce lac. Le rôle majeur fut joué par les bryophytes : tandis que les racines se décomposent, les bryophytes continuent leur croissance par le haut, emprisonnent les pollens : leur analyse permet de retracer le scénario de vie.
Malgré un assèchement progressif sur plusieurs milliers d'années, le processus se poursuit aujourd'hui. Encore humide, ce milieu comporte des espèces végétales caractéristiques de la tourbière. Dans ce plateau scintillent les méandres de la Serpentine.

lire la suite
Géologie

Mais d’où vient cette eau?

La belle résurgence que vous avez sous les yeux est un cas très particulier d’hydrogéologie : unique pour le Mercantour et presque pour les Alpes ! En effet, cette eau provient d’une perte du lac d’Allos, ce qui en fait un cas très rare de lac de montagne sans surverse, ce qui est d’autant plus remarquable qu’il s’agit du plus haut lac naturel d’altitude d’Europe dont la profondeur varie de 42 à 49 mètres suivant les années.
La source formée s’appelle le Chadoulin, affluent de rive gauche du Verdon.

lire la suite
Lac

Lac d'Allos

Enfant des glaciers de l'ère quaternaire, le lac d'Allos est le plus grand lac naturel à cette altitude d'Europe (62ha). Ses eaux issues de la fonte des neiges et de sources atteignent 42m de profondeur et en son sein se développe une vie plus intense que dans les lacs précédents : invertébrés, alevins, truite Fario et omble chevalier.
Le lac d'Allos est un milieu de la plus grande fragilité, du fait des conditions de vie extrêmes et du faible nombre d'espèces végétales et animales. L'omble chevalier, y est pour des raisons encore mystérieuses atteint de nanisme. Toute pollution ou modification du milieu y serait catastrophique. Mais la présence du Parc national devrait aujourd'hui assurer au lac sa quiétude.

lire la suite
Refuge

Refuge du Lac d'Allos

Refuge géré par la commune d'Allos

Refuge-bar-restaurant
Nombres de places : 40 places
Gardiennage : juin à septembre. La salle hors-sac, située juste au-dessus du refuge reste ouverte 365 jours par an.

Tél. 04 92 83 00 24

http://refuge-du-lac-dallos.com

Office du Tourisme du Val d'Allos : 04 92 83 02 81

 

lire la suite

Description

Du parking du Laus, démarrer la randonnée par trois séries d’escaliers taillés dans le grès. Pour la joëlette, emprunter la route goudronnée qui rejoint la cabane forestière. Après la maison forestière, suivre la piste (GR balisage blanc et rouge) pénètrant dans la forêt de mélèzes.

Laisser le GR à gauche et poursuivre à droite sur le sentier d’interprétation (GR balisage jaune et rouge). Admirer le paysage qui s’étend au-dessous de la résurgence du lac, la source du Chadoulin. Laisser maintenant le GR à droite et se diriger vers le lac jusqu’à la Chapelle Notre Dame des Monts. Rejoindre le refuge et entamer le tour du lac par la gauche.
Profiter du magnifique paysage pour observer les marmottes et chamois sur les pentes herbeuses alentour. À partir du refuge, reprendre le même itinéraire qu'au départ.

Départ : Parking du Laus
Arrivée : Parking du Laus
Communes traversées : Allos

Profil altimétrique


Recommandations

Pour les plus motivés, le départ peut se faire plus en amont depuis le parking le parking d'été de la Cluite en suivant le GR56B. Compter 1h30 de randonnée supplémentaire (attention cette partie n'est pas accessible en joelette)

En coeur de parc
Le Parc national est un territoire naturel, ouvert à tous, mais soumis à une réglementation qu’il est utile de connaître pour préparer son séjour

Lieux de renseignement

Office du tourisme du Val d'Allos

Place de la coopérative, 04260 Allos

https://www.valdallos.com

info@valdallos.com

04 92 83 02 81

Horaires

Toute l'année.
Fermeture exceptionnelle le 1er mai.

En savoir plus

Transport

Service de navettes gratuites dans le Val d'Allos (Transports Haut-Verdon Voyages) : http://ete.valdallos.com/
Tél :04 92 83 95 81

Lignes LER PACA pour rallier Digne-les-Bains,
Barcelonnette et Nice
Tél. : 00 33 (0) 821 202 203
www.info-ler.fr

Lignes départementales dans les Alpes-de-HauteProvence Lignes régulières /
hebdomadaires Digne-les-Bains, Barcelonnette, Larche et Digneles-Bains, Colmars, Allos, Service Transport du Conseil
Général
Tél : 00 33 (0)4 92 30 08 00
www.cg04.fr

Chemins de Fer de Provence de Nice à Digne-les-Bains
Tél. : 00 33 (0) 4 97 03 80 80
www.trainprovence.com

Service Accès Plus de la SNCF pour les personnes à mobilité réduite
00 33 (0)890 640 650 puis taper 1 ou      
Tél. : 36 35 puis dire Accès Plus
www.accesplus.sncf.com
accesplus@sncf.fr


Accès routiers et parkings

A partir du village d'Allos (04), situé sur la RD908, suivre la direction Lac d'Allos.

Parking du Laus - Accès réglementé :

Route ouverte du 26 mai au 15 octobre (selon arrêté municipal) jusqu’au parking du Laus
- parking payant du 30 juin au 26 août de 8h30 à 17h (dans la limité de 180 places environ).
- accès gratuit avant 8h30 et après 17h

Renseignements : 04 92 83 72 68 /
04 92 83 02 81

 

Stationnement :

Parking du Laus

Accessibilité

Prêt gratuit de la "joelette" :

Office de tourisme d’Allos
Tél. : 00 33 (0)4 92 83 02 81
www.valdallos.com

Parc national du Mercantour à Allos
Tél. : 00 33 (0)4 92 83 04 18
www.mercantour.eu

Chalet du Laus (été)
Tél. : 00 33 (0)6 32 90 80 24

Joëlette
Numéro de secours :
114

Signaler un problème ou une erreur

Vous avez repéré une erreur sur cette page ou constaté un problème lors de votre randonnée, signalez-les nous ici :