Lac du Lauzanier
>>
Home
>
Hiking
>
Lac du Lauzanier
Larche

Lac du Lauzanier

Fauna
Flora
Lake
Embed this item to access it offline
The proposed itinerary has been specifically adapted and awarded tourism and handicap status over the first 500 metres for wheelchair access. Off road “Joëlette” wheelchairs are available for free hire at Larche Tourism Office.
The Lauzanier valley was created by an immense glacier several thousand years ago. In the last century, hay fields extended over this area. The agricultural and pastoral use this land was put to has resulted in the presence of a wide diversity of flowering plants, including the emblematic “Queen of the Alps” (Eyringium alpinum).

2 points of interest
Flora

The Tardieu hut prairies

The prairies which surround the Tardieu hut are called “tall-festuca grassland”. This name comes from the dominant plant species, a tall kind of grass which grow in tall, tough clumps. The list of plants which grow alongside this tall grass and form the combination of plants constituting tall-festuca areas is long, but one of the jewels in the crown is surely Alpine sea holly or Queen of the Alps with metallic blue shades. This is currently the last area with Alpine sea holly in Ubaye, the department and the National Park.
read more
Lake

The wetland zone

From the pastoral hut at Tardieu, the track, which is horizontal at this point, overlooks the great plateau where the winding Ubayette sparkles.

A few thousand years ago, you would not have had to go much further to find a deep lake. This great flat area with its tender green hues was covered by a lake, which was hollowed out by the Lauzanier glacier. It was not very deep and was filled in by the deposits which came off the brittle slopes.
read more

Description

There are Mercantour National Park information signs at the carpark, follow GR5 (white and red markers) heading up the valley. 

The first 500 metres are fully accessible for people in wheelchairs with no need for assistance and a multi-sensory information has been specially designed for visually impaired and hearing-impaired people (PNF/GMF sponsorship). The track heads gently upwards on the left bank of the Ubayette river which winds through a wetland area before passing close to sheepfolds at Eyssalps where you may be lucky enough to meet the shepherd and his sheep in the mountain pasture. As the track begins to rise, the waterfalls coming down from Enclausette and the Lac du Lauzanier can be seen on the left. Keep climbing until you reach the lake which reflects the summits which tower over it. 

All along the path, you will easily be able to watch marmots. In the interests of their survival, please do not feed them and please respect the “quiet zones” which have been set in order to allow the marmots to live their lives in peace. 

Hikers with energy to spare can continue the walk by walking around the right-hand side of the lake on path GR5-GR56, in much more mineral-based surroundings; this will lead them to the Pas de la Cavale (2671m) beneath the Trois Évêques peaks. 

Follow the same route on the return journey. 

We would like to remind you that because this path is entirely situated in the heart of the Mercantour National Park, no dogs are allowed, even if they are on a lead.
Departure : Pont Rouge carpark, 5 km after Larche
Arrival : Lac du Lauzanier
Towns crossed : Val-d'Oronaye, Larche

Altimetric profile


Recommandations

Pleasant and accessible, the Lauzanier valley is highly popular in summer. If you wish to avoid the crowd, it is best to set off early in the morning.
Is in the midst of the park
The national park is an unrestricted natural area but subjected to regulations which must be known by all visitors.

Transport

Local bus lines in Alpes-de-Haute Provence. Regular/weekly lines Digne-les-Bains, 
Barcelonnette, Larche. 
Departmental Council Transport Service
Tel.: 33 (0)4 92 30 08 00
www.cg04.fr

Access and parking

Larche, 25km from Barcelonnette.

Parking :

Pont Rouge carpark. In summer, a bus leaves from the hamlet of Malboisset.

Accessibility

Free rental of "Joëlette" off-road wheelchairs and of the "handi-ecoguide" for the blind.
Larche Tourism Office
Tel.: 00 33 (0)4 92 84 33 58
www.haute-ubaye.com

Mercantour National Park at Barcelonnette
Tel.: 00 33 (0)4 92 81 21 31
www.mercantour.eu

Joelette
Wheelchair
Emergency number :
114

Report a problem or an error

If you have found an error on this page or if you have noticed any problems during your hike, please report them to us here:

Lac du Lauzanier
>>
Accueil
>
Pédestre
>
Lac du Lauzanier
Larche

Lac du Lauzanier

Faune
Flore
Lac
Embarquer cet élément afin d'y avoir accès hors connexion

L'itinéraire proposé est spécifiquement aménagé et labellisé tourisme et handicap, durant les 500 premiers mètres, pour la circulation en fauteuil roulant. Les joelettes sont mises à disposition gratuitement au Syndicat d'Initiative de Larche.

Le vallon du Lauzanier a été creusé par un immense glacier, il y a plusieurs milliers d’années. Au siècle dernier, s’étendaient ici des prés de fauche. Son exploitation agricole et pastorale a favorisé une grande diversité d’espèces de plantes à fleurs, dont l’emblématique “Reine des Alpes” (Eyringium alpinum). 

 


Les 2 patrimoines à découvrir
Flore

Les prairies de la Cabane du Tardieu

Les prairies entourant la cabane du Tardieu sont appelées par les botanistes " pelouses à grande fétuque ". Ce nom vient de l'espèce végétale dominante, cette grande graminée en touffes hautes et coriaces. Longue est la liste des plantes accompagnant régulièrement cette grande graminée et caractérisant avec elle " l'association végétale " de la grande fétuque, dont l’un des fleurons est sûrement le chardon bleu ou reine des Alpes aux inflorescences bleu métallique. C'est actuellement la dernière station de chardons bleus dans l'Ubaye, du département et du Parc national.

lire la suite
Lac

La zone humide

À partir de la cabane pastorale du Tardieu, la piste, horizontale, surplombe légèrement le grand plateau où scintillent les méandres de l'Ubayette.
Il y a quelques milliers d'années, vous n'auriez pas eu à aller plus loin pour découvrir l'onde profonde d'un lac. Ce grand à-plat habillé de vert tendre était occupé par un lac creusé par le glacier du Lauzanier. Peu profond, il a été rempli par les fines alluvions arrachées aux versants friables.

 

lire la suite

Description

Des panneaux d’informations du Parc national du Mercantour sur le parking, suivre le GR5 (balisage blanc et rouge) remontant le vallon.

Les 500 premiers mètres de la piste sont accessibles en totale autonomie pour les personnes en fauteuil et une table de lecture multi-sensorielle a été́ spécialement conçue pour les malvoyants et pour les malentendants (mécénat PNF/GMF). Le chemin monte ensuite doucement rive gauche de l’Ubayette qui serpente dans une zone humide et passe près de la bergerie des Eyssalps ̀ il sera peut-être possible de rencontrer le berger et ses moutons en estive. Le chemin commencant à̀ s’élever, on peut apercevoir sur la gauche les cascades  descendant de l’Enclausette et du lac du Lauzanier. Continuer l'ascension jusqu’au lac reflétant les sommets le dominant.

Tout le long du sentier, il sera facile d'observer les marmottes. Pour leur survie, il est interdit de les nourrir ; pour leur quiétude, l'observation doit se faire en respectant les "zones de tranquillité" mises en place.

Les plus motivés pourront continuer en longeant le lac par la droite par le GR5-GR56, dans une ambiance plus minérale, mènant au lac de Derrière la Croix puis jusqu'au Pas de la Cavale (2671m) sous le rocher des Trois Évêques.

Le retour se fait par le même itinéraire.

Pour rappel, le sentier est dans sa totalité situé dans le coeur du Parc national du Mercantour, les chiens ne sont donc pas autorisés, même tenus en laisse.

Départ : Parking de Pont Rouge, 5 km après Larche
Arrivée : Lac du Lauzanier
Communes traversées : Val-d'Oronaye, Larche

Profil altimétrique


Recommandations

Agréable et accessible, le  vallon du Lauzanier est très prisé en été. Pour éviter les fortes affluences, mieux vaut partir tôt le matin.

En coeur de parc
Le Parc national est un territoire naturel, ouvert à tous, mais soumis à une réglementation qu’il est utile de connaître pour préparer son séjour

Transport

Lignes départementales dans les Alpes-de-HauteProvence. Lignes régulières /
hebdomadaires Digne-les-Bains,
Barcelonnette, Larche.
Service Transport du Conseil Général
Tél : 00 33 (0)4 92 30 08 00
www.cg04.fr


Accès routiers et parkings

Larche, à 25 km de Barcelonnette.

Stationnement :

Parking du Pont Rouge. L'été une navette part depuis le hameau de Malboisset.

Accessibilité

Prêt gratuit de la “Joëlette”
et de “l’handi-ecoguide”
Syndicat d’Initiative de Larche
Tél. : 00 33 (0)4 92 84 33 58
www.haute-ubaye.com

Parc national du Mercantour à Barcelonnette
Tél. : 00 33 (0)4 92 81 21 31
www.mercantour.eu

Fauteuil roulant
Joëlette
Numéro de secours :
114

Signaler un problème ou une erreur

Vous avez repéré une erreur sur cette page ou constaté un problème lors de votre randonnée, signalez-les nous ici :